Radio Cadena Agramonte
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Thursday, December 14, 2017

Political Council of ALBA-TCP takes place in Havana today

Havana, Cuba, Dec 14.- The 16th Political Council of the Bolivarian Alliance for the Peoples of Our America-Peoples Trade Treaty (ALBA-TCP) takes place this Thursday in Havana, with the aim of exploring new opportunities for integration.

According to the organizers of the event, the meeting that will take place in the Cubanacán Protocol Hall, in the west of the capital, will allow to coordinate actions and reaffirm the commitment of unity, cooperation and solidarity among the nations that make up the Alliance.

In statements to the press upon arrival in Cuba, César Navarro, Minister of Mining and Metallurgy of Bolivia, who heads the delegation of his country to the XVI Political Council, confirmed the support and solidarity of his nation with the Venezuelan government and people, who are living a systematic aggression and an attempt of constant destabilization.

Bolivia's participation in the Council is important because it will make it possible to assess the regional political situation, he said.

Foreign ministers as well as senior representatives of the member countries have confirmed their participation at today's meeting.

The closing ceremony of the XVI Political Council of ALBA-TCP, will take place at six o'clock in the afternoon at the Havana Convention Center, in commemoration of the 13th anniversary of the creation of the Alliance, and will become a platform of solidarity with the besieged Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela.

The meeting of the political and concertation mechanism takes place in the midst of a complex regional and international context and threats to the progressive and revolutionary processes of Latin America and the Caribbean.

Created on December 14, 2004 in Havana, the Alliance is an expression of integration based on complementarity, solidarity and cooperation, precepts promoted by two great men of humanity: Fidel Castro and Hugo Chávez; and as an alternative to the Free Trade Area for the Americas, proposed by the United States.

This block was originally integrated by Cuba and Venezuela, and then, over the past decade, Antigua and Barbuda, Bolivia, Dominica, Ecuador, Nicaragua, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, San Cristóbal and Nieves, and Granada. (ACN)