Radio Cadena Agramonte
Friday, November 16, 2018
Thursday, December 14, 2017

Cuba reiterates Solidarity with Venezuela in ALBA-TCP Political Council

Havana, Cuba, Dec 14.- Foreign Minister Bruno Rodriguez reiterated Cuba's solidarity with Venezuela in the face of constant attacks against that country when inaugurating today the 16th Political Council of the Bolivarian Alliance for the Peoples of Our America- Peoples´ Trade Treaty (ALBA-TCP by its Spanish acronym).

We will support Venezuela in any circumstance, said the Cuban Minister of Foreign Affairs when welcoming the delegations of the ALBA-TCP eleven member countries.

Rodriguez welcomed the recent victory of the Chavez forces in the municipal elections of the South American nation and underscored the commitment of the cooperation mechanism with peace in the region.

The 16th Political Council will explore new opportunities for regional integration and analyze the current political context in which new aggressions against the progressive processes of the region, especially in Venezuela, are taking place every day.

The meeting will allow coordinating actions and reaffirm the commitment of unity, cooperation and solidarity among ALBA-TCP members, as well as the joint work when facing natural disasters.

The event´s agenda also includes the need to revitalize and promote the Community of Latin American and Caribbean States (CELAC by its Spanish acronym) as a genuine integrating and political entity of the region.

The ALBA-TCP is an exponent of the respect and observance of the precepts of the Proclamation of Latin America and the Caribbean as a Zone of Peace, adopted at the CELAC 2nd Summit, in Havana, on January 2014.

Created on December 14, 2004 in Havana, the ALBA-TCP is an expression of integration based on complementarity, solidarity and cooperation, precepts promoted by two great men of humankind: Fidel Castro and Hugo Chavez; as an alternative to the Free Trade Area of the Americas, proposed by the United States.

This bloc was initially made up by Cuba and Venezuela, and then, over the past decade, by Antigua and Barbuda, Bolivia, Dominica, Ecuador, Nicaragua, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Kitts and Nevis, and Grenada. (acn)