Radio Cadena Agramonte
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Monday, March 5, 2018

Chile Makes History at Oscar Awards with 'A fantastic Woman'

By Fausto Triana

Santiago de Chile, Mar 5.- Chile dawned today elated with the award to Best Foreign Film given to 'A Fantastic Woman', film of Sebastian Lelio that made history for a country that for more than a decade is making a big impact in the seventh art.

It is a special moment for the rising Chilean cinematography, that won an Oscar for animated short film 'Story of a Bear' (Gabriel Osorio) in the 88th ceremony of 2016, first statuette awarded to the southern nation.

But the story of a transgender (Daniela Vega), who after the sudden death of her partner, faces the prejudice of the deceased's family, has become a success with several other awards in the Fenix and the Goya to Best Film.

The film was produced by successful filmmaker Pablo Larrain (No, El Club, Neruda) and his brother Juan de Dios.

The young transsexual Daniela Vega, 28, before known as lyric Singer, was chosen among presenters at the Oscar gala.

Although it was precisely no surprise due to the recognition gained in international festivals, at the Golden Globes and the independent cinema, A Fantastic Woman is the first of its type to conquer Hollywood Academy's biggest award.

It follows the path of 'La Historia Oficial' (Luis Puenzo) and 'El secreto de sus ojos' (Juan Jose Campanella), both of Argentina, the only Latin American films awarded at the Oscars in the past if it is true that several Mexican directors received that distinction.

Alejandro González Iñárritu (Birdman and El Renacido), Alfonso Cuarón (Gravity) and Guillermo del Toro (The shape of water) succeeded but with films made in Hollywood.

There is also no precedent in the 90 years of the golden statuettes, of a transsexual presenter as was the case of Vega.

The president of Chile, Michelle Bachelet and the president elect, Sebastian Piñera, sent messages congratulating Lelio (Gloria), the Larrain brothers and actors Daniela Vega and Francisco Reyes for the achievement.

A fantastic woman got ahead of The Insult (Lebanon);

Loveless (Russia); The Square (Sweden, winner of the Gold Palm in Cannes); and On Body and Soul (Hungary, winner at Berlinale). (Prensa Latina)