Radio Cadena Agramonte
Sunday, October 25, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020

Gilberto Caballero in Memorian Scientific Journalism Contest awards winners

Havana, Sep 25.- The authors of the television program Antena won the Prize for the Work of Life of the Gilberto Caballero in Memorian Scientific Journalism Contest, corresponding to its XXIII edition.

Antena emerged in April 1993 and continues with its live signal, weekly, through informative coverage of the main national and international scientific events held in Cuba; In addition, it addresses historical issues and transmits documentaries of a scientific nature.

The jury of the contest argued that the Special Recognitions went to Mariana Saker Labrada, for her television program A Tiempo, and to Omelio Borroto Leiseca, for the documentary series Naturaleza Secreta de Cuba.

The latter are made up of professionals from the Circle of Science and Technology of the Union of Journalists of Cuba (UPEC) and the Ministry of Science, Technology and Environment (CITMA).

In the case of the Radio Press, it was won by Yoslaine Dieppa Hernández, of Radio Camoa, from the Mayabeque province, for his work entitled La Joya, CITMA announced on its digital site on Thursday.

In turn, on Television, the award went to Krystel Aspillaga Rojo, from the Information System of Cuban Television, for her documentary Silva a lo natural.

With the title The Cuban sun does burn, Sayli Sosa Barceló was the winner in Digital Press, of the newspaper Invasor, from Ciego de Ávila, on ultraviolet radiation.

In the Escrita, for her series of scientific works, including A Wonder Woman, it was achieved by Ada Durán del Río, from the Mayabeque newspaper.

Through CITMA institutions, the Environment Agency encouraged Marieta Cabrera Jaular, from Bohemia magazine, for her Research ¿Mirrors where to look?

For the jury of the National Museum of Natural History, the work Biodiversity, unconditionally habaneros, by Yanel Blanco Miranda, from the magazine Juventud Técnica, deserved it.

Similarly, the Agency for Nuclear Energy and Advanced Technologies awarded it to Lissette Martín López, from the newspaper Tribuna de La Habana, for her work on carbon nanoparticles that could impact on Cuban nuclear biomedical applications.

The Cuban Industrial Property Office decided to recognize the work of Ledys Camacho Casado, from the weekly Options, for his work on the formation of human capital and the creation of capacities and competencies of those who make up the system as a whole.

In this XXIII edition of the Gilberto Caballero in Memorian Scientific Journalism Contest, 54 professionals from Pinar del Río, Havana, Mayabeque, Villa Clara, Ciego de Ávila, Las Tunas, Santiago de Cuba and Guantánamo participated.

The categories of organs in competition are Written Press, Radio, Television and Digital, each endowed with a prize of one thousand pesos and three thousand in the case of the Work of Life, in accordance with the rules of the contest.

The lawyer Iramis Alonso Porro, director 11 years of the magazine Technical Youth ago, won the Work of Life in 2019.

Gilberto Caballero Almeida (1941-1996), from the Latin American Information Agency Prensa Latina, was the first president of the UPEC Circle of Science and Technology; They were followed by Mario Garrido, Alexis Schlachter, Ariel Terrero, Aixa Hevia, Bárbara Avendaño, Gladys Rubio and currently Orfilio Peláez. (Text and photo: ACN)