Radio Cadena Agramonte
Wednesday, September 22, 2021
Wednesday, June 9, 2021

Cuban judo athlete will debut today at the Budapest World Cup

Havana, Jun 9.- The Cuban judoka will debut today on the fourth day of the individual tournament of the World Championship in Budapest, Hungary, a contest that closes the Olympic ranking for the Tokyo 2020 Games, postponed for next summer.

According to the website , del Toro, weighing 63 kilograms (kg), appears in the classification zone -18 and one by country- in 11th place, and his first rival in pool A will be Aina Laura Rosoanaivo , from Madagascar. 

This date could open the medal table of Cuba, the first of podium possibilities, since on Thursday Iván Silva will do it (90 kg / fifth).

Kaliema Antomarchi (78 kg / ninth) will go up to the tatamis on Friday, while on Saturday, the last day of the individual, Idalis Ortiz (more than 78 kg / first) and Andy Granda (more than 100 kg / eighteenth).

So far the largest of the Antilles has failed three times, first with Orlando Polanco (66 kg / 36 on the list), and later with Arnaes Odelín (57 kg / rung 47) and Magdiel Estrada (73kg / 36th position), this last in zone, but by the continental quota –one by nations-.

Polanco won a match and lost one, a performance that guaranteed 320 points for the ranking, Odelín after being bye in the first round of preliminaries, closed with a win, a setback and 320 units, and Estrada concluded with 1-1 and 240 points.

So far, Japan leads the medal table, with three gold, two silver and one bronze, followed by Russia (1-0-1), Canada (1-0-0) and Georgia (1-0-0), the four nations that have at least achieved a golden metal.

In the individual tournament of the Budapest World Cup, 664 judokas -386 men and 278 women- from 118 countries compete.

For Sunday the mixed team is scheduled, with action in the divisions of 57, 70 and more than 70 kg for women and 73, 90 and more than 90 kg for men.

By the draw, Cuba will open against Georgia in pool D, in which France and the Netherlands will also be opponents, four of the 15 registered teams. (Text and photo: ACN)